top of page




NEW YORK, NY, December 12, 2022 –– The Women’s National Basketball Players Association’s (WNBPA) Board of Player Representatives reelected Nneka Ogwumike to serve a third term as its President. Ogwumike, an 11-year veteran and the 2016 WNBA Most Valuable Player, has served as WNBPA President since 2016, first winning reelection in December 2019. She led the Players in the Union’s CBA negotiations with the league, culminating in the ground-breaking 2020 CBA.

“I’m honored to serve another term as WNBPA President, and to represent the phenomenal members of this historical Union,” said Ogwumike. “I am excited to continue the legacy of the WNBPA.”

The WNBPA Board of Player Representatives also elected Kelsey Plum to serve as First Vice President of the Union. Plum, a member of the 2022 WNBA Champion Las Vegas Aces and of the USA Basketball team that won gold at this year’s World Cup in Sydney, Australia, is elected to serve her first term on the WNBPA Executive Committee. Plum has served as a WNBPA Player Representative for her Las Vegas Aces teammates since November 2019. She replaces outgoing First Vice President Layshia Clarendon. Clarendon had served as WNBPA First Vice President since 2016 and was an integral member of the Union during their two terms.

“I am excited to serve as WNBPA First Vice President and to ensure that the voices of my peers are heard, and that as a league, we continue to be at the forefront of fighting for social justice,” said Plum.

Additionally, Elizabeth Williams and Natalie Achonwa were both reelected as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively, of the WNBPA. Williams, an eight-year veteran and the WNBA’s Most Improved Player of the Year in 2016, has served as Secretary since August 2018. Achonwa, an eight-year veteran and recipient of the WNBA’s Dawn Staley Community Assist Award in 2020, was elected as Treasurer in August 2020. Satou Sabally, the second overall pick in the 2020 WNBA Draft and a 2021 All-Star, was also reelected as one of the three Vice Presidents, after she was first elected in December 2020.

“The needs of all players are a real priority of mine,” said Williams. “I will continue to be a resource for all players whenever they need me and will always remain open-minded. I want to continue to share everything that I have learned with all players, from rookies to veterans, and to do my part to make sure this league thrives both now and once I retire.”

Breanna Stewart and Brianna Turner were also elected to the Executive Committee for the first time in their respective careers, with both serving as Vice Presidents. Stewart, a two-time WNBA Finals MVP, has served as her team’s Player Representative since July 2020. Turner, who was named to the WNBA All-Defensive First Team in 2020 and 2021, has served as her team’s Player Representative since June 2022.

“It can be easy to make assumptions about the league and how it is run,” said Turner. “Instead, I want to be a pivotal part in the decision-making process, and to have a seat at the table to be a part of the business off of the court, and what more we can do to grow our league.”

Stewart and Turner replace Sue Bird, who is retiring after four years on the Executive Committee, and Chiney Ogwumike, who has served as Vice President since 2016.

“We want to thank and extend our deepest appreciation to Chiney, Layshia, and Sue, for the instrumental roles they played in moving the Union forward,” said WNBPA Executive Director Terri Carmichael Jackson. “The advances we made to champion workers’ rights, promote pay equity, and drive activism, would not have been possible without them.”

The election was conducted via a weeklong vote which concluded last week and was certified by the WNBPA Election Committee over the weekend. The Executive Committee members will begin fulfilling their roles immediately.

Position ` Player TermLength

President Nneka Ogwumike 3 years

First Vice President Kelsey Plum 3 years

Secretary Elizabeth Williams 2 years

Treasurer Natalie Achonwa 2 years

Vice President Satou Sabally 2 years

Vice President Breanna Stewart 2 years

Vice President Brianna Turner 2 years


bottom of page